The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care has launched Australia’s first standard of care for sepsis. Sepsis is a life-threatening condition that requires rapid treatment to reduce the risk of death and ongoing morbidity. The Sepsis Clinical Care Standard aims to ensure that patients presenting with signs and symptoms of sepsis are recognised early and receive best-practice care.

The standard consists of seven quality statements:

  1. Could it be sepsis?
  2. Time-critical management
  3. Management of antimicrobial therapy
  4. Multidisciplinary coordination of care in hospital
  5. Patient and carer education and information
  6. Transitions of care and clinical communication
  7. Care after hospital and survivorship

The first three statements focus on early recognition and rapid treatment. When signs of infection-related organ dysfunction are present, patients should receive appropriate antimicrobial therapy within 60 minutes. This therapy should be managed in accordance with the Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard. The next three statements concern the patient journey through the hospital. These points aim to ensure that hospitals are providing coordinated, patient-centred care. Lastly, there is a focus on care following discharge. Coordinated care after leaving hospital can improve patient outcomes and reduce rehospitalisation.

The Sepsis Clinical Care Standard is just one part of the National Sepsis Program. Further details on this program, as well as supplementary resources, can be found on the Commission’s website.


  1. Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. Sepsis Clinical Care Standard. Sydney: ACSQHC; 2022.

Subscribe Knowledge Centre Updates

Enter your details to receive Knowledge Centre updates